How do we fit with the rest of the system?

Integrated care is about giving people the support they need, joined up across the NHS, local councils and other partners. Click here to watch a video that explains about integrated care (opens in new window).

Health and care is organised across different interconnected geographical footprints. We have:

  • one system (Lancashire and South Cumbria);
  • four place-based partnerships (Blackburn with Darwen, Blackpool, Lancashire and South Cumbria); and
  • 42 neighbourhoods. 

The Lancashire and South Cumbria Provider Collaborative is part of the system and enables effective joint working across the five NHS provider trusts, as illustrated in the diagram opposite.

The Provider Collaboration Board recognises there are other partners that have a role in the development of services. The PCB connects with system partners through Lancashire and South Cumbria Integrated Care Board.

Each trust also has a significant role to play at place, and works through its local place-based partnership to ensure acute, community and mental health care are joined-up in localities with other health and care providers, such as primary, community and social care, the voluntary sector and private providers.

In addition, the Lancashire and South Cumbria Health and Care Partnership has established a Mental Health, Learning Disability and Autism Provider Collaborative. This will be led by Lancashire and South Cumbria NHS Foundation Trust working with our colleagues in health, social care and the voluntary, community, faith and social enterprise sector.


A diagram showing how health and care is organised across different interconnected geographical footprints in Lancashire and South Cumbria.

Accessibility tools

Return to header